It Is Done

Blog 2561, 22 January 2022, Saturday                      

Dear friend,

Is there a place in your life that is personally sacred? A place of memories, hopes, and/or peace. That’s what my study is to me. For the twelve years before we got married, I lived in a little, one-room house of books, one desk, my office chair was a low stool, and I was happy there. Today I have a one room study with a separate bathroom, bedroom, and kitchen—it is so much better. As you know, I have three desks now and I really do use them daily. I am happy here. For the last two weeks, I’ve been living on an edge. My nest wasn’t comfortable, for a time I forced myself to work elsewhere and I had to push myself to be more intentional than usual. As of yesterday, I’m back in my peaceful state of freely drifting with several different focuses (that’s foci for any English nerds out there). I’m home. It feels as if I’ve been traveling for several weeks, but I’m home now. I be happy!

Even my walking has suffered this month, first a week of ice and snow, then two weeks to move almost everything we have, to move it again, and finally a third move to restore what we had. We made very few changes, yet we know more are coming. We swung by IKEA this week and looked at their sleeper-sofas. When we came back from Tanzania a dozen years ago, we saw a three-by-five card on a church bulletin board that offered a hide-a-bed sofa and easy chair for $50 and we got them. The easy chair died several years ago, I think it’s time to let the sofa go. It’s a really comfortable bed but the cushions have worn out on both sides. Either we reupholster or replace, it’s probably cheaper to replace. It needs to be a sleeper because someone is using our second bedroom for something else. Marvin!

It would be nice if it felt like life was returning to normal. By the time it does, if it does, we’ll have changed and so will the new norms. Such, I suppose, is life. Love,

Jeannmarv

Written and Posted: 7 a.m., Saturday

1 thought on “It Is Done

Leave a comment