Like a 10,000 Piece Puzzle on a Turntable

Blog 2560, 21 January 2022, Friday                         

Dear friend,

I brought half the junk into my room and put it all away, then I brought in the second half and messed everything up. I redid everything I’d done and some parts of it more than once. Finally, on Thursday afternoon my office looked like a real office. If only I could have stopped there, but there were two flaws: my blinds were stuck in the up position (usually they’re down and turned open) and the sound system needed major work.

Thursday night I tore down half of my south wall, clearing access to the window blinds. I fixed it, well, not really fixed it but I have it working again if I remember to never pull them up so tightly and I figured out how the ancient sound system will fit in. Now, all I have to do is reinstall everything and it’ll look good until the next time I look around and decide what would be better than that which is now. I can always make it better, I don’t do “best” on anything. It’ll take me three hours today to restore what I almost had yesterday. It was close, but a day later it feels as impossibly distant as ever. I’ve come to the conclusion that refitting my office was like constructing a 10,000-piece jigsaw puzzle on a spinning turntable.

During my deconstruction breaks, I’m listening to my computer read to me what I’ve typed into the program, that four-volume, historically and hysterically funny, highly bias accounts of our digestive problems in our 1992-93 sabbatical year.

Maybe I’ll be done with the office this week, but for now it’s like having an itch you’re not supposed to scratch, which makes it itch worse. I can’t concentrate on anything but this 10,000-itchy bites. That’s what it’s like to try to write in this room today. Sorry. But with love,

Jeannmarv

Written and Posted, 3 p.m., Friday

Leave a comment