I Be Numb

Blog 2558, 17 January 2022, late Monday                            

Dear friend,

For five days I worked all day, moving stuff. Of those five days, I woke up 1:30 twice, followed by 2:30 wake-ups for three days in a row. Yesterday morning I slept in until 4, today it was back to 1:30 again. I’m going to bed at 10-ish, just not sleeping enough. But fortunately, I don’t wake up bored—I have a whole household of stuff in the living room, everything that had been connected (usually electrically) is no longer hooked up, and where did all these books come from?

My old study was shifted around on occasion, but realistically stayed the same. For twelve years it was a constant. It took me twelve years of shifting and sorting and cleansing to get it to a state I was comfortable with (and in). Everything but the desks is changing, and if the other took a dozen years to nestle into place, I won’t get much done in a couple of weeks, but I can try. I got rid of our old box TV (26” by 24” by 18”, with VHF and DVD, over six cubic feet) that Linda from church gave us in 2010 when we arrived back from Africa. We got a flat screen for the living room years ago but I’ve used this one in my office to watch DVD, no cable. The scene in the living room that looked like a rollover accident of a garbage truck, strewing trash everywhere, has now been moved into my office and my job is to nail up all the bits and pieces onto the walls.

It is Monday evening. I haven’t turned my computer on until five minutes ago. The house in now organized except for one roommy office. I did one quick organization, then brought in everything else I’d hauled out. I may never catch up. Of the things I preplanned, nothing seemed to have worked out. Usually if I’d had another inch, that would have worked well. One inch too long is a disaster. But there are many “one-inch” that can crush a project. I know it is so!

So I’m sending this off so you know I’m OK, wading my way through, and will eventually be done. More later, my friend. Love,

Jeannmarv

Posted: 17 January, Monday, 9:30 p.m.

1 thought on “I Be Numb

Leave a comment