A Silly/Clever Idea for a Walk

Blog 3306, 24 April 2024, Wednesday                                  

Dear friend,

It sounded so good; Jean had an appointment with the Geek Guys at Best Buy to reopen her computer because her password was not working. I’d always wondered what you could do if you couldn’t even open your computer, how do you get help? Jean immediately went for professional help, not like me, trying to fix it yourself until you break it. I brought pieces of her bike to get fixed, she was wise enough to go to The Geeks who knew we had to had to call Apple. The wizards of Apple already had her phone number to double check to see if it was she who was calling, then they gave the Geek guy a magic code, an ever-changing number that opened the door to her kingdom. It’s good to know there’s a secure way to get into your house without breaking a window, even if you lose all the keys.

It sounded so good; Jean would be at Best Buy, I had nothing to do, I thought I’d walk down and meet her there. That way I’d be walking downhill more than uphill, but once I started walking, I had to keep walking if I wanted a ride home, which I truly desired. I guessed it would be two and a half miles. It was 3.6 miles. I walked for two hours, descending 331 feet from our place to the low point near the SE 8th Street entrance to I-405. From there it was uphill almost to the store, 167 feet (my ‘Hey, Google’ is giving me these numbers, taken from Google Earth). It took me 2½ hours, 1.4 miles an hour with very little level terrain. The only one who passed me whizzed by on a bicycle without any warning, he then ignored my loud advice to say, “On your left,” like “real” bike riders say when coming up on a pedestrian. I saw no one else walking that crazy trail.

At Best Buy, we also bought a “Glocalme DuoTurbo – Twin Chips Stable Mobile WiFi” for traveling in Canada and later in Europe. After years of fighting to find an Internet connection, we may now have our own. Not that I’m a pessimist, but it sounds too good to be true. The good news is that the blogs get more interesting when we’re being ourselves while on the road: culturally insensitive, typical ugly American tourists, and too old to remember passwords. It keeps the adventure going, as does this: Love,

Jeannmarv                              Written and Posted: 4:30 a.m., Wednesday

Leave a comment