Confined and Crabby

Blog 2801, 26 October 2022, Wednesday                            

Dear friend,

I’m dealing with a pre-bronchial condition. Its cause is the nasal thing I sometimes get that has now slipped down into my lungs and I’m starting to sound like an angry seal every time I cough/bark. I’d guess they may not allow me on a plane with this condition, so I’ve locked myself in to our one-room, bad hide-a-bed, B& (no second B). I slept in the bed 33 minutes the night before, today was a little better, I just started on the floor. The floor is much firmer.

Jean and Marjorie and their legendary friend, Kathy Sell, spent most of yesterday together shopping, dining, laughing, having fun together. In Travemunde they have a world-wide competition for sand sculptures (indoors, for a good reason here) and the ladies brought me a tablespoon-size piece of apricot cake for consolation of not having lunch with them. No one wants to eat with me, but tonight the three of us will go to an outdoor restaurant, I’ll be the one at the far end of the table.

This place, along with an Internet connection, has a satellite TV program that I do not understand. Yesterday while laying low, I searched 300 news stations, all were in German, French, Dutch, or Spanish, and nothing in English. There were hundreds of sitcoms, usually American, all dubbed. It’s amazing how un-funny The Big Bang Theory can be when you don’t understand a word of it. There are so many streams of stations that I can never find my way back to where I was. This TV is as confusing to me as my phone is.

Despite the cough, I am amazingly well now. If I didn’t cough, no one would know otherwise. I feel fine, maybe a little low in energy and I’ll need that strength for our train ride to Hamburg on Friday, but from then it’s taxi to the airport on Saturday, check my luggage, and fly to Seattle after a plane transfer in Frankfort. Ah, if only I didn’t cough. I am taking every non-alcoholic cough inhibitor I can find; I’ll never know which one worked and I also don’t know what the right dosage is because the directions are all written in German or Dutch. Jean, too, wishes I would quit my barking cough because every time I cough, she stirs. In a one-room B& at 4 in the morning, there’s not much room for privacy or silence. Love,

Jeannmarv

Leave a comment