Two Saints, Two Works

Blog 1651, 2 October 2018, Tuesday

Dear friend,

They promised me rain yesterday morning, what they gave me was unseasonably warm weather with a wind out of the southeast. I walked through fallen leaves as if this was autumn. I watched leaves scurry across my path like crabs on the Indian Ocean beaches, moving more sideways than forwards. I nearly walked into three joggers as I ambled mindlessly through the warmth and breeze. I checked my watch to see how far I’d walked (2.52 miles after three cups of coffee) and saw my pulse was 52 beats per minute (with a high of 106 when I climbed the hill). It was an easy day, as opposed to today.

With two events for The Plaster House, Jean has worked hard to get this The Plaster House series of events done. She’s recruited a team of magnificently disciplined volunteers to make the way smoother and focused. We’re going to bring information, show the needs and results, and try to communicate the amazingly good work The Plaster House does. But we’re missing the charm and grace of our friend Sarah! who can whirl into a room and whoosh everyone’s heart. Jean will be charming, but she isn’t Sarah! I will be a silent witness in the back corner whose work will be done before and after the show.

The first event is at the Women’s University Club of Seattle, as stately a place as I’ve ever been in stateside. The second event is at the Barbee Mill site just south of the VMAC near Seahawks central on Lake Washington, a more casual setting. It’ll be a twelve-hour day for us. So long as there’s no blizzard, things will just unfold as planned. They’re trying to set up an electronic visit from Australia, a word from Sarah! but we’re not sure that will happen once, twice, or at all. Tomorrow I won’t have to write a blog, it’ll happen and I’ll just record it.

Collections for the Rebecca Fund are over as of yesterday. We raised $2,186.79 to give her a chance to live as normal a life as she could hope for. Thank you, all you who helped or thought of helping. In a year they’ll evaluate her for prosthetic legs, but for now she’s re-establishing her life running the bakery. She employs two people in the bakery; they are her runners. We have given her a life of hope, a resource she’s always had but now it’s visible. I wish you’d all had a chance to know her, she’s a bit of an African Sarah!, the sort of person you realize your face hurts from smiling too much after you leave her presence. It’s not that she’s funny (although she is), it’s just that she fills other people’s lives with joy. Even in the wheelchair where she now spends most of her day, there are always neighborhood children around her. It’s magic. It’s spiritual to be around her. So again, thank you for helping make her life better.

Blog too long! Sorry, but with love,
Jeannmarv

Leave a comment